Seminar Series


The seminar series is a weekly scientific forum with the following goals:

  • Maintain awareness of research within the department by providing faculty members an opportunity to disseminate professional accomplishments to their peers
  • Foster inter-departmental interactions and collaborations by including speakers from other departments/units on campus with shared interests
  • Promote the professional development of graduate students/postdocs within the department by inclusion within the series
  • Support professional development of faculty by inviting notable speakers from outside institutions

Location and Times

  • Generally each Wednesday, from 12:00 - 1:00pm (see schedule below)
  • Room 1400 of the College of Medicine unless noted otherwise. 

Nominating Speakers or Questions Regarding the Series

Seminar Schedule

Dates Speaker Speaker Affiliation Host
August 7, 2019 Scott Stagg FSU Chemistry Zucai Suo
August 14, 2019 Connie Tenorio FSU Biomedical Sciences Mike Blaber
September 11, 2019 Melissa Martin FSU Biomedical Sciences  
September 18, 2019 Randi Reed FSU Biomedical Sciences Robb Tomko
October 16, 2019 Roberto Vincis FSU Psychology Michelle Arbeitman
October 23, 2019 Sara York FSU Biomedical Sciences  
October 30, 2019 Xiaobing Zhang FSU Psychology Yi Zhou
November 6, 2019 Scott Wilson University of Alabama Birmingham Yi Zhou
November 13, 2019 David Williams Oregon State Universtiy Gary Ostrander
November 20, 2019 Yuna Son FSU Biomedical Sciences Akash Gunjan
December 4, 2019 Lucia Notterpek University of Florida Michelle Arbeitman
December 11, 2019 Samantha Pavlock FSU Biomedical Sciences  
December 18, 2019 Ling Qi University of Michigan Medical School Jerome Irianto
January 8, 2020 Adam Dewan FSU Psychology Michelle Arbeitman
January 15, 2020 Douglas Storace FSU Psychology Michelle Arbeitman
January 29, 2020 Shuibing Chen Weill Cornell Medical College Julia Wang
February 5, 2020 David Bentley   Diego Zorio
February 26, 2020 Debra Fadool FSU Biology Michelle Arbeitman
April 22, 2020 Micah Luftig Duke University David Meckes