Year 3 & 4 Committee

The Year 3 & 4 Committee is a subcommittee of the Curriculum Committee. Membership includes the Education Directors who direct required clerkships, the Regional Campus Deans, student representatives from the third and fourth years, and selected faculty administrators and staff. The Year 3 & 4 Committee is chaired by the Director of Clinical Programs, Kerwyn Flowers, DO.

The Committee recommends educational policies governing both required and elective courses/clerkships in years 3 and 4 and establishes and implements procedures for those policies. The Committee monitors evaluation data on student performance (e.g. grades, exam scores, patient log data) and evaluation of the courses/clerkships and clerkship faculty (MedEdIQ). When these data fall below expectations or risk jeopardizing the integrity of the course/clerkship or accreditation of the educational program, the Committee makes recommendations about resolving the identified issues. The committee also works with Faculty Development to ensure that clerkship faculty are prepared to receive, orient, teach, and evaluate students.

More information on the Year 3 & 4 Committee is available on MedNet.