Tribute to Dr. Myra Hurt

The College of Medicine has recognized Dr. Myra Hurt for her many accomplishments at Florida State University and the College of Medicine. As a founding faculty member and the college's first acting dean, Dr. Hurt's contributions were vital to the creation of the medical school. She was honored by FSU President John Thrasher, FSU Provost Sally McRorie, and College of Medicine Dean John P. Fogarty during a ceremony on Sept. 2 in which she was awarded the Westcott Medal, FSU's highest distinction.


Myra Hurt Westcott Medal Ceremony - Sept. 2, 2020 (watch below)


Unveiling of the Founders Wall - June 19, 2020 (watch below)


Breaking the Mold

Hurt recently released a new book, "Breaking the Mold: The Academic Pioneers Who Bucked Conventional Wisdom to Create the Florida State University College of Medicine." For more information, to place an order, or to read the book online, visit: