PA program announces graduation award winners for Class of 2020

PA commencement

In an email to the College of Medicine community, James Zedaker, associate dean and founding director of the School of Physician Assistant Practice, congratulated four PA students on earning annual awards.

"I am pleased to recognize the following individuals who have received the annual School of PA Practice awards," his email read. "We received several nominations from faculty and staff of representing students who have made great personal achievements over the past two years and represented the program and the College of Medicine well. Please join me in congratulating the following individuals."
Directors Award: Millicent Nowak

The Directors award recognizes a student who has consistently distinguished themselves through leadership, integrity, cooperation and understanding while maintaining the high  professional, academic and clinical standards of the Physician Assistant Program.

Academic Excellence Award: Alexandrea Beemer

The Academic Excellence Award is given in recognition of a student who has demonstrated clinical AND academic excellence in the Physician Assistant Program.

Spirit of FSU PA Award: Cole Pomykacz

The Spirit of FSU PA award recognizes students who have dedicated themselves to their goal of becoming a physician assistant, while exhibiting integrity, professionalism and persevering in the face of adversity.

Mission Award: Jose Yegres

This award recognizes students for exceptional achievement in striving to meet the needs of medically undeserved communities, especially elder, rural, minority and undeserved populations throughout the state of Florida.

To see past winners, visit the College of Medicine's awards archive.