Ten M.D. students receive Capital Medical Society Foundation scholarships

Dr. Frank Walker, CMS Foundation Scholarship chair

Ten Florida State University College of Medicine students were recognized as recipients of Capital Medical Society (CMS) Foundation scholarships Oct. 3 during a ceremony held at the Tallahassee Regional Campus.

“We are extremely grateful for the Capital Medical Society Foundation’s longstanding support of our students,” said College of Medicine Interim Dean Dr. Alma Littles, who participated in the ceremony. “Any support students receive to lessen their financial burden and overall debt load and contribute to their day-to-day wellbeing is welcomed.”

The scholarship recipients include first- and second-year College of Medicine students, as well as third- and fourth-year medical students from its Tallahassee Regional Campus. The 10 scholarship recipients – nine of whom were present – are listed alphabetically, with current medical school class and hometown:

•    Braden Cathey, (M.D. Class of 2025) Niceville, Fla.
•    Rachel Cathey (M.D. Class of 2025) Niceville, Fla.
•    Brooke Hartenstein (M.D. Class of 2024) Gulf Breeze, Fla.
•    Omar Mahboob (M.D. Class of 2025) Tallahassee, Fla.
•    Glorisa Merritt (M.D. Class of 2025) Tallahassee, Fla.
•    Owen Moore (M.D. Class of 2027) Pace, Fla.
•    Alexandria Tolbert (M.D. Class of 2025) Niceville, Fla.
•    Jodi Wilson (M.D. Class of 2024) Thomasville, Ga.
•    Bonnie Wilt (M.D. Class of 2025) Melbourne, Fla.
•    Kaleigh Wingate (M.D. Class of 2026) Tallahassee, Fla.

Hartenstein was out of state on a clinical rotation and will be recognized later this month, when she will also receive a scholarship award from the Anesthesiology Associates of Tallahassee Scholarship Fund.

The CMS Foundation Scholarship Committee annually selects its recipients after reviewing applications and conducting interviews, with a focus on financial need. Preference is given to those who plan to practice in North Florida following the completion of their residencies.

CMS established the scholarship fund more than 36 years ago. Since the FSU College of Medicine admitted its first class, which graduated in 2005, CMS has provided more than $800,000 to its medical students.

“Attending medical school is a very expensive proposition these days,” said Dr. Frank Walker, who chairs the CSM Scholarship Committee. “My fellow physicians are pleased and proud to help support medical students who have not only a financial need, but a desire to stay in Florida and practice medicine in Florida.” 

Most of the Capital Medical Society scholarship funds are generated from its annual holiday auction, which includes participation and contributions from the College of Medicine.

“That makes it even more special,” Littles said. “It’s another way the physicians and others in the community demonstrate their appreciation and support of our students, and a great way to show them the importance of giving back.”

2023 CMS Scholarship recipients
Members of the Capital Medical Society and supporters gather for a group shot with the 2023 FSU College of Medicine recipients of the CMS Foundation Scholarships. (photo by Colin Hackley)

Photos: (Cover) FSU College of Medicine students who were awarded Capital Medical Society Foundation scholarships show their appreciation. From left to right are: Braden Cathey, Rachel Cathey, Kaleigh Wingate, Omar Mahboob, Owen Moore, Glorisa Merritt, Bonnie Wilt, Alexandria Tolbert and Jodi Wilson. (Top) Dr. Frank Walker, chair of the Capital Medical Society Foundation Scholarship Committee, addresses the recipients at the October 3 ceremony. (photos by Colin Hackley)