News of the Week

IMS students, staff collect university-wide awards

Apr 19, 2024

Interdisciplinary Medical Sciences (IMS) students and staff from the College of Medicine program collected several university-wide honors at the April 9 Leadership Awards Night and the April 15 Torchbearer 100 program.

Elizabeth Foster, Ph.D., associate dean of Interdisciplinary Medical Sciences and advisor to the Honors Medical Scholars Society (HMSS), was selected as Advisor of the Year. Nominated by her HMSS students, Foster was chosen based on her contributions of time and expertise as a volunteer to a student organization.

Mia McSheffrey, a senior IMS student majoring in clinical professions and an Honors Medical Scholar, was honored as an inductee to the 2024 Torchbearer 100 program. The longstanding tradition, which includes the presentation of a medallion to wear at commencement, recognizes undergraduates who best exemplify the university’s core values: inspired excellence; dynamic inclusiveness; transformative daring; responsible stewardship; and community engagement.

In addition, McSheffrey, who will enroll at the College of Medicine in May as a member of the M.D. Class of 2028, was recently recognized as the college’s undergraduate nominee for the FSU Humanitarian of the Year Award. Dedicated to making health care more equitable, McSheffrey has volunteered both locally and abroad in Peru through the Global Scholars program and participated in public health research. Her medical education journey has been inspired by her younger brother and his experiences with a rare genetic disorder.

IMS Program Manager Ann DelRossi received a Faculty/Staff Seminole Award, recognizing those demonstrating exemplary attitudes, enthusiasm and extending themselves for the benefit of the students they serve. DelRossi was one of three recipients of the award.

IMS’ Catherine Wondra was one of seven students to receive a Student Seminole Award, recognizing those making special contributions to the university in the areas of leadership and service. There were six winners of Outstanding Student Leader Awards, including Matthew Daniels from the IMS program. The recipients share impressive involvement across multiple areas of campus and demonstrate leadership regardless of position or title.

The University Health Services Student of the Year Award, presented annually to either a single student or a group of students demonstrating outstanding leadership and achievement in promoting health issues, was presented to the Medical Response Unit (MRU). IMS student Bryce Hickey was among the MRU members on hand.

In addition to the IMS students, Honors Medical Scholar Naomi Katumalla was the individual recipient of the Student Engagement Impact Award. It recognizes the person whose acquired skills have led to constructing programs promoting professional development and wellness habits, measuring their impact on the student body.