FSU College of Medicine in Fort Pierce celebrates fourth graduating class

elizabeth.strack#514749

Posted June 12, 2012 at 1:30 p.m., updated June 12, 2012 at 1:30 p.m.





FSU PHOTO LAB

Florida State University College of Medicine Fort Pierce Regional Campus 2012 graduates include (from left, front row) Monica Pena, Lakeema Bruce, Tiffannie Walker, Campus Dean Dr. Randall Bertolette, Helen Travis Paulson, Dharmini Shah, Melissa Mullaney, (middle row) Diana Godfrey, Jessica Gondela, Elizabeth Anderson, Martin Giangreco, Sarah Macander, (back row) Charlene Hylton, Brian O'Hara, Michelle Miller, William Fields, Allen Sirizi, Aaron Hilton and Brandon Mauldin.

FORT PIERCE — The Florida State University College of Medicine Fort Pierce Regional Campus recently honored its fourth graduating class.

Having spent two years here, training one-on-one with physicians all over the Treasure Coast, the 18 members of the Class of 2012 are moving on to their residency programs.

internal medicine, obstetrics/gynecology, emergency medicine, otolaryngology, and anesthesiology.

The graduates gathered with the campus dean, Dr. Randall Bertolette, community board

These students will be pursuing careers as doctors in family medicine, pediatrics,

members, staff, and physician faculty to celebrate their accomplishments. The event was sponsored by Indian River Medical Center, Lawnwood Regional Medical Center, St. Lucie Medical Center, and Martin Health System.

outstanding graduate, went to Aaron Hilton, a future otolaryngologist and longtime Port St. Lucie resident.

The Class of 2012 presented Dr. George Mitchell, critical care specialist at Indian River

Awards were presented to the students and faculty. The Dean's Award, for the most

Medical Center in Vero Beach, with the Excellence in Teaching Award. They chose Dr. Chris Hollinger, anesthesiologist at Indian River Medical Center in Vero Beach, for the Extra Mile Award.

The graduates (and hometown) are as follows: Elizabeth Anderson (Monticello), Lakeema Bruce (Miami), William Fields (Fort Lauderdale), Martin Giangreco

Lucie), Charlene Hylton (Pembroke Pines), Sarah Macander (Fort Myers), Brandon Mauldin (Cocoa), Michelle Miller (Wauchula), Melissa Mullaney (Jacksonville), Brian O'Hara (Palm Harbor), Helen Travis Paulson (Tallahassee), Monica Pena (Naples), Dharmini Shah (Pembroke Pines), Allen Sirizi (Winter Springs) and Tiffannie Walker (Loxahatchee).

(Bradenton), Diana Godfrey (Cocoa), Jessica Gondela (Osprey), Aaron Hilton (Port St.

This story is contributed by a member of the Treasure Coast community and is neither endorsed nor affiliated with TCPalm.com