Excellence in teaching

Of the 13 physicians nationwide selected to receive the 2010 Pfizer Teacher Development Award, two are clerkship faculty members at the College of Medicine. Jason Salagubang, M.D., who practices in Apopka, teaches students from our Orlando Regional Campus. Joanne DeAusen Saxour, M.D., practices in Port Orange and teaches students from our Daytona Beach Regional Campus. Both are family physicians.

The prestigious teaching award is given by the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation based on scholastic achievement, leadership qualities and dedication to family medicine.

"Pfizer Teacher Development Awards spotlight the best of our profession: those in active practice who give of themselves to teach, mentor, and inspire residents and students. Tomorrow's family doctors and their patients will be better because of their efforts," said AAFP Foundation President Richard Roberts, M.D.



Myra Hurt, senior associate dean for research and graduate programs.



Dr. Jason Salagubang, center, demonstrates for Marla Mickel (M.D. '08), right. His teaching has been recognized by the American Academy of Family Physicians.