Skip Main Navigation | Skip to Content

AOA Inductees Honored in "The Big House"

Bookmark and Share

 Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society, a professional medical organization, recognizes and advocates for excellence in scholarship and the highest ideals in the profession of medicine. Values include honesty, honorable conduct, morality, virtue, unselfishness, ethical ideals, dedication to serving others and leadership. Members have a compelling drive to do well and to advance the medical profession and exemplify the highest standards of professionalism.


Dean Fogarty started the evening by welcoming faculty, new inductees and their family and friends to the fifth, annual FSU College of Medicine AOA Induction Ceremony held March 16, 2017. Before passing the microphone to Dr. Joan Younger Meek who officially started the ceremony. This ceremony was extra special for all in attendance. The cermony was held in the College of Medicine Atrium, fondly referred to as the "The Big House", by Dr. Fogarty. The ceremony also honored  Clinical Sciences' Interim-Chair, Dr. Jonathan Appelbaum as the newest AOA Faculty member, and brought Clinical Sciences' beloved, Former-Chair, Dr. Ricardo Gonzalez-Rothi out of retirement, if only for one evening. Dr. Harold Bland and Dr. Suzanne Bush introduced the student inductees.


 Student AOA Inductees: 

Jesse Bauer

Kevin Coughlin

Allison Ellis 

Jacob Hawkins 

Heather Highsmith 

Rebecca Imran 

Emily Kaltz

Eric Keasler 

Rodolfo Loureiro 

Diana Mosquera 

Emily Ost 

Mueez Quereshi 

Stacy Ranson 

Torrie Reynolds-Herbst

Carlos Rubiano

Michael Warren 

Tristan Weir 

Catalina Zapata 

Dr. Gonzalez-Rothi introduced Dr. Appelbaum, as the facutly inductee into AOA.


After all the inductees were acknowledged, Dr. Joan Younger Meek concluded the event and congratulated all of the new members to the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society.