Skip Main Navigation | Skip to Content

Students recognized
for leadership
and service

Spotlight Item Photo
Click to open photo
Bookmark and Share

April 2018

For the ninth time in the past 11 years, students representing the College of Medicine were honored at Florida State’s annual Leadership Awards Night.

Among those recognized this time were medical students Jasmine Jordan, Casey Mason and Scott Nelson. Also spotlighted was Katharyn Lindborg, an Interdisciplinary Medical Sciences student, whom the College of Medicine had chosen as its nominee for Undergraduate Humanitarian of the Year.

Mason (pictured top left) was one of 10 FSU students to earn a Student Seminole Award, given to graduate and undergraduate students who excel in leadership and service. She was nominated by Assistant Professor Christie Alexander, who described her as “humble, gracious, compassionate and driven to serve.”

Among numerous other volunteer and leadership positions, Mason is executive director of FSUCares’ Chapman Community Health Program, a student-run health promotions service that addresses community needs. The program partners with Maryland Oaks Crossing, a local affordable-housing community, and has led initiatives such as food pantries, a community garden, health screenings, tutoring and more in the community.

“She gives back in everything she does,” said Alexander in a nomination letter, “and everyone around her feels it – making her the very definition of true leadership. She has taken CCHP to the next level.”

Jordan (pictured bottom left) received an Academic Leadership Award, presented to one or two students in each academic college based on academic performance, university service and contributions in and out of the classroom.

Since 2016, Jordan has been CCHP’s director of operations and has served in leadership roles for Racism Awareness Week and Cover the Uninsured Week. She also volunteered with Camp Boggy Creek, for children with rheumatoid arthritis; the Kidz 1st Fund bone marrow drive; and a College of Medicine mini-camp where high school students interested in medicine learn to take vital signs and perform other basic medical procedures.

Nelson (pictured right), too, received an Academic Leadership Award. He is vice president of the Tallahassee Regional Campus and former president of the Pediatric Interest Group. He also volunteered at Pediatria Healthcare for Kids in Tallahassee and went on a service trip to Panama in 2017.

Lindborg (pictured in top right corner) is a senior in what, as of May, will become the IMS program’s first graduating class. Over the last four years, she has volunteered at IDignity, which helps disadvantaged residents obtain their personal identification.

In a nomination letter, IDignity legal counsel Jacqueline Dowd wrote, “Her compassion for our homeless and low-income clients was obvious from her first day with us, but it was her unflagging intellectual curiosity that significantly impacted clients and other volunteers alike…. Ms. Lindborg has demonstrated that she is committed to a career in service to others.”

Each college nominates an undergrad to be its Humanitarian of the Year. Natalie Correa, nominated by the College of Human Sciences, was named FSU’s overall Humanitarian of the Year.

A full list of 2018 Leadership Award recipients can be found here.

Previous College of Medicine Leadership Award recipients

2017: Family Medicine Interest Group, Graduate Student Organization of the Year; Eric Walker, Academic Leadership Award

2016: Geriatrics Interest Group, Graduate Student Organization of the Year; Family Medicine Interest Group, Vires Award; Academic Leadership Award, Lataisia Jones (graduate), Leah Genn (undergraduate), Barbara Dietrick (undergraduate)

2015: FSUCares, Graduate Student Organization of the Year; Alessandra Taylor, Academic Leadership Award; Susanna Zorn, Student Seminole Award

2013: Brett Thomas, Academic Leadership Award

2011: Students Interested in Global Health, Graduate Student Organization of the Year

2010: Association of Latino Medical Students, Graduate Student Organization of the Year

2009: FSUCares, Graduate Student Organization of the Year

2008: American Medical Women’s Association, Graduate Student Organization of the Year